374437_283235478477309_1117877491_n   We celebrate all kinds of things, from birthdays to anniversaries, school reunions, I celebrate when I came to Australia and even the date I became an Australian citizen. I am thankful for the new county I live in and all the wonderful things that have been happening over the years. My writing career has taken off, in small leaps but it’s keeping me more busy than I even imagined.

With the recent famous people who have passed on has got me thinking about how grateful I am for things in my life. For those friends, family I am still in contact with and my extended family.  Even though my adopted parents are gone, at times I feel like an orphan of the world, even though I know I am not. Pj is wonderful and it’s been hard at times we continue to make things work. My girls are overseas in Ohio and Montana, we visit as often as schedules allow. Lots of wonderful pictures are exchanged all the time and I love it. Always loved photos and taking them. Photos tell a story, stopping a moment in time. It brings back all sorts of wonderful memories of the time and place. They say a picture is worth a 1,000 words and there is some truth to that. I told Alisha to make sure she got pictures with the grand-babies great grandma, to have a record of her for them. Something they could physically hold on to and learn about her. I sent pictures of Pj and I so the kids can learn about us and when we Skype they know who we are.

The same goes for knitting, crocheting, quilting, anything like that which I do for a gift for anyone, especially for my grandkids Elizabeth and Gabriel. My parents made hand-made gifts for my brother and I, I put what they made me away for my girls. I learned over time what they put of themselves into each piece they made, It was a rare case that they actually kept any of the pieces that they made for themselves and I find that happening to me now. Each piece I give has a part of me woven into it. Guess you could call it my legacy, that piece of me I will leave behind.

The song “For Good” from the show Wicked, has become so special in a lot of way. It reminds us that some people are in our life for just a short time but it’s those people who can change our lives for the better. Leaving a gift of them in our lives. I am a better person today because of some of the people I have met. Pj can tell you when I first arrived I was so timid and scared of everyone and everything but over time I have learned to stand up for myself, to find my voice. Judy has given me that since of not being afraid of what others think, Dan gave me the courage and knowledge to get moving and walk in my first race, he also helped me find my faith in God again, his brother Gary taught me to really look at a sunrise and appreciate the day given to me and when it is dark to take care of me because you can’t change what happened, start fresh tomorrow. Shelly taught me how to keep going, that no matter how hard things are that it will be OK in time. Keep that positive focus. My sister Jo, reminds me how precious life with grandbabies is.  Jim West has shown me that hard work and staying positive, things will happen, they will work out and to appreciate those simple things. My Sisters, Janice, Patricia, Jan, Elaina all give me sense of belonging to a family. My brothers Daniel and Peter also give me that sense of belonging and that big brother security.

Seeing that this post would be special I wanted to share it with all of you who have given me a little gift of something.  I have learned so much from all of you and my life is so much better for knowing you. To my readers and followers of my blogs I THANK YOU for inviting me into your life as I share my life through my writing, I hope that I have been able to leave you with a thought or a smile in that tough time in your life. I turned 50 this year and am determined to make it an amazing year. I hope that you will do the same.

2013 is going to be full of surprises and a lot of fun. Thank you for the hand print you left on my heart.

