As I start this blog , the American holiday Thanksgiving is just a couple of weeks away. It is a time where we gather with family and friends, eat ourselves  totally silly, watch American Football and parades from all over the USA. The one thing that we always did around the table to stop and share about those things that are truly thankful for. We usually had a special service of thanks during the week of or the Sunday of Thanksgiving week. I know that we are supposed to be thankful all year-long but Thanksgiving really makes us stop and really take the time to make sure we say out loud to those friends and family what they mean to us.

In Australia they do not have anything that is close to the holiday or even a service to take the time to really give thanks. The word Eucharist in Greek for Thanksgiving, which being new to the Anglican faith , and no clue on my basic Greek. So we are giving thanks during each service for the day, week or whatever we feel we need to give thanks for. I miss having that extra special time, to really focus on the positives. I think at times we do not always stop and look for the positive and see that there is much to be thankful for.

My Dad’s birthday some years fell on Thanksgiving, and it was a good reminder of how lucky I was to have adopted parents who chose me for their daughter. As much as I would like to know about my real parents, those are questions I have come to accept that I will not have answers to. It has taken a long time to finally get to this point but in the course of this year of discovery as I turned 50, a lot of who I am is thanks to them, Gene and Edith who gave me piece of them, and I am grateful for those pieces. Mum taught me to knit and cook, Dad to Crochet, act and love of musical theater.

I know that most Australian have a hard time understanding the background of Thanksgiving and why we take a day to do it. We are so busy all year-long and I truly think that at times we miss things that are right in front of us. We are always thankful in thought when hearing about some positive news but why can we just be human and voice those thankful moments? Why is wrong with being excited when good news comes, or we get a piece of good news and cant wait to share it.

I have come to discover that being Human and just saying what needs said is really OK, so here goes……

I am THANKFUL for living in wonderful Australia, which has taught me heaps about myself and given me the tools to stand up for myself. For my handsome husband Phil and our life together – it has not turned out like we planned but we are making it work. I am thankful for Father Mark and Jenny and all those hours I have sat on your office floor and felt safe enough to have a good cry and for your help as I was struggling., To Father Bill, how can I put into words what you and Chris mean to me, you were both there with me throughout my confirmation, you show me strength and courage and that my foundation was stronger than what I thought it was. To my girls and their families, I love you all so much and I know we have been through much but we are stronger for it today. I have to wonderful gifts of grandchildren, Elizabeth and Gabriel and I can’t wait to share what I can with them . To my extended family, including Dan and Gail, my Sorority Sisters and Twitter family, I love you all and you make my life better by just being in it.

Take the time to share your thanks with your friends and family around you, it might be just the thing that they need to hear.

 

