1555320_10151823856932015_2137238966_nHappy Australia Day.

Four years ago, I got to cross something off my bucket list, and it was a real thrill. I had told Pj that when I got my Australian Citizenship that I wanted to get it on Australia Day. Well, I got my wish, and each January 26th I get to celebrate being part Aussie but also I am thankful for my new adopted country. I am I born and bred Buckeye from the great state of Ohio, raised in tradition and pride.

This past year I have been celebrating and embracing being 50. I set myself goal throughout the year and I am really proud of how I have done. Taking the advice of my mentor, I tried the best I could to embrace each day and remember that God was giving me all I could handle for the day. When it got dark it was time to look after me, I could not longer change the events of the day. I figured out that I needed some “Cricket Time” so the evenings were for me, doing what I wanted to work on. Crochet, Knit or just do nothing, it was my choice.

I am a mad knitter, I decided that I wanted to learn more. So I set out on a year-long quest to learn new stitches, techniques and ways to improve the quality of my work. I have loved what I have learned so far and will continue to work on those things which will help my love of knitting to grow.  I have lots of little projects in the works along with still working on ticking off some of those works in progress that have been setting around for way to long.

My extended family has grown by leaps and bounds and I am thrilled by that. I have felt like an orphan for so long and I will admit, that its been a struggle at times. I now have Soxette Sorority sisters and Buckeye Brothers and Sisters. I can’t find the words to tell them how much I appreciate them and love sharing in the adventures of the seasons with them. I know that 2014 will bring great things and I can’t wait for the ride.

My writing work has taken off by leaps and bounds. There are times when little things take place and I am just blown away by the response. The support has been more than I ever expected and I can’t find the words to thank you for your support and encouragement. I started Cricket’s Corner of Australia not really sure where things would go but have birthed 5 other blogs from there. I love baseball and gridiron and feel that those are my strong points.

My daughter Alisha calls some of my work, a cross of chicken soup for the soul and life experience. I have had a lot of writing mates who have started their first book and have been encouraging me to do the same. So, later this year I will start writing my very first book. Taking my cue from Alisha and using some of my past entries in Cricket’s Corner to hopefully create a story that people will want to read.

My New Year’s resolution is to work on a better balance of work and play. I am getting better at keeping what I call “office hours” and when I need to take a day off, not being hard on myself. Things are not going to end if I miss a day or two of writing.

My birthday goal for this coming year, continue to work on my knitting and crocheting learning. Trying new patterns and if I fail at something, it’s really OK. To expand my writing trying new things, I wrote a blog about a place we like to eat and I am going to keep that going as we visit the place again.

OK, its time for me to get a move on and get somethings done. Have a safe Australia Day weekend. If you have to drive please be a defensive driver. There are many events in Adelaide and on Sunday public transport is FREE, leave the car at home and take advantage of the extra services for the day.

Cricket

#remembermaria

