Last week we celebrated ANZAC Day and it was a moving day as it always is. Pj and I were up early and off to Dawn Service at the Elizabeth Return Serviceman League. It was the biggest crowd they have ever seen. Next year is the 100 anniversary of the landing at Gallipoli in Turkey and I can’t even imagine how many will be there. We are planning to be in Canberra for the celebrations.

I can not even put into words the feelings as the sun is coming up to hear the Last Post being played. It game me chills. As I watch the flag blowing as half mast and the Honor Guard, got me thinking about growing up in Ohio. How every Memorial Day as the Americans call it, with the band in High School we always had a parade to do and all. I never really got how very important it was to really stop and honor those who have served and are serving now. I never had to the nerve to go up to them and tell them a “Thank You” for what they gave for our freedom.

Last year after service at St.Peters Cathedral as Pj and I were leaving there was a group of officers who were chatting, I ask Pj to wait a minute and I walked over to them. I held out my hand to each one of them and with tears in my eyes I said a very simple”Thank You”.  Each officer returned a firm hand sake and thanked me in return.

This year we went into the city for the March (Parade) of all those who have served, and in some ways it was sad sitting there and watching history pass by me. all the wonderful stories they could tell, the determination of some of them, who were going to make the whole distance. Some of the units have no one left and that part of history has been lost.

From the march it was down the street to the Cross of Sacrifice for the service there, which is short but it’s another way of giving thanks for those who have given their lives in service.

I wish more of my American friends would visit and especially for this time of year. I can almost promise that you will go home a different person and when Memorial Day, Veteran’s Day you will have a renewed view of how much this group of ladies and gentlemen mean to the our history.

The next time you see, servicemen or women do not be afraid to tell them Thank You, you will never know what it means

