1380263_734827406542958_341010406_nOK, You are probably wondering about the title here but bear with me as I try to get through this.

I got the message from my brother Tim this morning that over night Australian time my Aunt Patty had passed away. She  had been ill for a while. I have great memories of her, just wanted to share a little about her life with you.

This is one of those times, when living overseas is a real downer. More than anything I wish I could be on a flight home to be at the funeral when it takes place but I can’t. All I can do is to give love and support, and what I can do to the best of my ability and that is words on a screen so here goes.

I remember Aunt Patty as a strong in her faith anchor of the Brown family. She was just amazing in what ever she did. She got me to eat stuff cooked cabbage. I do not even remember the recipe or anything , I just remember how good it was. I tried a lot of new foods when visiting. I remember the house in Beaver Creek and the picture window in the family room. No matter what time of year it was, it was a beautiful view and I remember how peaceful the room was and all. I remember jumping on the pogo stick on the basement

I remember Aunt Patty for a while use to decorate Cakes and all. They were so amazing and the detail was beyond words. I always thought that one day I could decorate cakes. I would never be as good as her but if I just took my time I would do a job that she would be proud of.

To those cousins that I do not speak to any more because of choice I have made in the past. It is time to let those things of the past go and concentrate on now. We are all hurting, we are all feeling the loss now. I know what its like to lose your Mum, Aunt Edith…I have gone through exactly what you are going through now. It is not an easy time, there is a really big hole in life now and in the days and months to come those special holidays and all will be difficult times. Life is different now and in YOUR time you have to find a way to create that new normal for you. We have to do it at our pace. It’s OK to laugh at the silliness of the memories, don’t be afraid to talk to Aunt Patty when your alone in a room. I know she will be listening.

I miss you Uncle Bob, we always have some great conversations and all. I can not even begin to understand your loss. I send you hugs and love. I know your faith is strong and we know that Aunt Patty is now in a better place. No longer in any pain, is healthy and watching down on you. I know that all of those who have gone before will be there to greet her with open arms and to show her around.

I was taught by a close mate before he passed, God gives us what we can handle each day. Once the day has ended and its dark outside, try to take that time to take care of you, get a good nights sleep the best you can and wake up the next morning to start again. I know how hard it is but I have learned to do this and I am stronger so now I can carry the load of those who need my strength now.

I send you my love and support during the next hours and days to come. I am with you in spirit and keeping you close in prayers and thoughts.

 

