Ok, I know your looking at the title and going what?

Bear with me as I try and explain.

In 800 words you have to open your blog, tell your readers what you want them to know in the shortest way and close it out. It’s like Twitter for bloggers.

Starting out with my writing I first had to figure out what kind of writer I wanted to be. Well, they say write what you know so, I became a sports blogger. Someone the other day called me a Sports Analyst. The challenge is writing a sports blog in less than 800 words. You learn to pick and chose what is the most important to tell your readers. You do your best to give highlights

Writing a book is another story. My first 2 published book were taken from Cricket’s Corner of Australia and The 19th Floor. Both books were a collection of things I had written over the time span of a year. Here, 800 words didn’t apply.

Well, I took a major step outside the comfort of 800 words and wrote my first novel. There I said it. The one thing every writer wants to do in their career is to write a novel. Question is how many of us really finish it, let alone publish it.

It is a little daunting that knowing you have an unlimited about of words to use to talk about what you want to create for  your readers. Have You ever tried to figure how many new ways to say the same sentence or to stop using “and all”. (that drove my editors nuts).

You have open doors that you never dreamed of in writing a novel. It is in your hands what happens to your characters, how they deal with things. You get to create how they look, that moment that your hero and heroine fall in love or the moment one of the dies. I can be as descriptive as I want to hopefully paint a great picture as you read.

It is up to you create a journey for your readers and by the end of the book hoping that you leave them wanting more.

That is everything I am hoping for. Leaving you my readers wanting more. It has taken roughly 2 years of my writing life to do this. I am just steps away from a dream becoming reality.

Am I scared, sure. If you’re not them you didn’t do your job well enough. I am an independent author/publisher. Which is something I really like. I have friends who read and edit for me. I don’t share anything with them until time.  It gives them a new perspective and I hope they take that journey as they are reading it.

This book will be under my pen name. I did that under advice from another write. It’s a new genre and I want this to stand on its own. Yes, I would love for you to read it but I want you to read it for what is, a new book, not “Oh, Cricket wrote it so we know it will be good” Make any sense?

There you have it, in less than 800 words I have told you about my new book coming out soon.

So, Have I peaked your interest?

 

 

 

